top of page

A RELIGION THAT CAN'T BE TAUGHT


The word "art" is thrown around like confetti- but what is art with out meaning? Why has "meaningless art" become a norm?

Who am I to criticize the encrypted world of art that society has adopted?

I have always wanted my art to mean something. Both aesthetically and equitably I seek to transfer my angst into an outlet of design which will recreate traditional expectations of art and reveal a hidden reality. My art is an outlet for me to express the words that my lips can't form. It is my own religion that can't be taught. Art is my obscure escape since I consistently find myself struggling to engage in society. Being young is confusing, and any adult knows the struggle of being on their own for the first time & not eating out of the palm of their parents. You are no longer reliant on the circumstances of your parents, but rather you can make your own rules and, unfortunately, your own mistakes. Art can be your teacher, and thankfully, your material to teach others about your vision and to open their eyes to the way you see the world, even if someone can only see into my world for a moment. Thats the dream, right? Art is to open others eyes to a new outlook on life & to momentarily introduce people into your own universe.

The basics of art are simplistic. pen on paper. brush on canvas. Beyond that, the realm of artwork is broad and undefined. The reason people make art can be various and extreme, but for me personally I find art as an escape from existence, a place to breathe with little to no air. An escape from a confined space. Art can be anything you want it to be, an anger release, an escape from reality. Whatever you need art to be, it will be for you. Whenever you need art, it will be waiting at home in your shoe box that you store your paints in. No matter how long you set art aside, you will always find your way back to it.

Art is something that pulsates through my veins, defines my existence, and keeps me sane. There is no world that I would want to live in without art. Religion is defined as a pursuit or interest to which someone ascribes supreme importance. Art is something that can be put on a pedestal and admired in my life. It has pulled me through hard times & also helped me celebrate my successes. There is no wrong in art, and the comfort of that can help bring my overpowering emotions into a teaching element for society. I hope for my art to make a difference in someones view of society or to give people a new sense of individuality to which they can form their own opinions and values of society. Art is intended to change the world in whichever way society needs it to.

bottom of page